Beston summons 27 for COSAFA preps

CHIPOLOPOLO stand-in coach Beston Chambeshi says the team will not break camp after regrouping on Sunday because time is not with them. Chambeshi has summoned 27 players for camp in the final stretch of preparation for the 2018 COSAFA Castle Cup to be held in Limpopo Province of South Africa.

Team manager Hastings Ndovi released the names tofazfootball.com saying the players were expected in camp on Sunday and will not break camp. Zambia will join the 2018 tournament at the quarterfinal stage where they will face Namibia. The 2017 runners up have named a squad comprising players from the last year’s U20 Africa Cup winning side that have graduated to U23 with the hope of giving them senior team action.

Among the notables are Mangani Banda, Shemmy Mayembe and Boston Muchindu, Chrispine Sakulanda and Ngosa Sunzu. Zambia will leave for South Africa on May 27 with the tournament running up to June 9. And Zesco striker Lazarous Kambole who is part of the summoned has so far this year scored three goals for Chipolopolo since making his international debut at 2018 CHAN in Morocco and has many in the 2018 CAF Champions League for Zesco.

He has another four goals in the FAZ Super Division this season. Chambeshi also disclosed that he is bolstering his defence with the recall of Buildcon defender Isaac Shamujompa. Meanwhile, Chambeshi said the team is set to stay in camp until next week’s departure for South Africa.

“We won’t break camp when we regroup on Sunday because it is a crucial week and time is not with us,” Chambeshi said according to the COSAFA website.

Chipolopolo will enter the 2018 COSAFA Cup at the quarterfinal stage on June 2 when they face Namibia in Limpopo



Kenny Mumba (Red Arrows), Mangani Banda (Zanaco), Charles Muntanga (Nkwazi)


Billy Mutale (Power Dynamos), Bournwell Silengo, Shemmy Mayembe (Zesco United), Isaac Shamujompa (Buildcon), Martin Kaonga (Nakambala Leopards), Thandie Mwape (Kabwe Warriors), Henry Besa (National Assembly), Boston Muchindu (Nkana), Paul Banda (Lusaka Dynamos)


Kelvin Kapumbu (Lumwana Radiants), Clatous Chama, Collins Sikombe (Lusaka Dynamos), Larry Bwalya, Kelvin Kampamba, Benson Sakala (Power Dynamos), Jack Chirwa (Green Buffaloes), Ngosa Sunzu (Buildcon), John Ching’andu (Zesco United), Chrispine Sakulanda (Red Arrows), Charles Zulu (Zanaco)

Ronald Kampamba (Nkana), Lazarous Kambole (Zesco United), Martin Phiri (Zanaco), Emmanuel Chabula (Kitwe United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *