7 vie for Kaumbwe parliamentary seat

SEVEN candidates have been validly nominated for the upcoming Kaumbwe parliamentary election in Eastern Province.

The election could not take place on August 12 due to the death of UPND Alliance candidate Bornface Khondowe.

Fresh nominations were therefore held on September 30 and the election is scheduled for October 21 this year.

According to the Electoral Commission of Zambia, successful parliamentary candidates include Masauso Daka of the Socialist Party, Yunike Mwale (Independent), PF’s Aaron Mwanza, and Charles Nyanoka of the Party for National Unity and Progress.

Others are Esnart Sakala (UPND), Listed Tembo (Independent), and Democratic Party’s Wilbase Tembo.

For the position of council chairperson, a combined eight candidates have successfully filed for the Chisamba and Lusangazi seats respectively.

In Chisamba Central Province, five candidates have successfully filed for the council chairpersonship.

These are Joseph Chibanga (SP), Fred Choongo (UPND), Kalenga Naulu (DP), Nelia Phiri (Independent), and Alice Siabula for PF.

In Lusangazi, three Bandas have been validly nominated to compete for the position.

These are UPND’s Fred Banda, Patrick Banda of the PF, and William Banda who is standing DP ticket.

Meanwhile, there will be four ward elections involving four provinces where 16 candidates have been validly nominated.

In Masaiti district on the Copperbelt, three candidates have successfully filed for the Kamifungo Ward election.

These are Andrew Mwape of DP, Bornwell Ntambo (PF), and the UPND’s Mark Simbeye.

In Mwansabombwe district in Luapula Province, the following have been validly nominated for the Lufubu ward election: Collins Chipili of the Leadership Movement, Thelma Kabo (DP), Paul Musonda (SP), Patson Mwape (UPND), and PF’s Daniel Mwewa.

The North-Western Province’s Mushindano district has four people vying for the Kalilele Ward seat.

These are Dainess Kabunda (DP), Gladys Kashimoto (UPND), Wamunyima Likando (PF), and Patrick Mwewa an independent.

And Southern Province’s Zimba district also has four candidates validly nominated for the Mulamfu Ward seat.

These include Sivans Mapenzi (Independent), Bison Sialeta (DP), Exray Siasweka (PF), and Charles Sichaabi of UPND.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *